Letters To The Editor

Cleveland Heights cares about democracy

To the Editor:

Cleveland Heights voters just showed they care deeply about democracy. And we hope they will have the opportunity to show it again in November.

More than 3,000 people in Cleveland Heights showed they cared by signing the Move to Amend initiative petition. Thanks to them, we passed an important milestone in the effort to amend the U.S. Constitution to firmly establish that individuals, not corporations, are entitled to constitutional rights. More than a symbolic gesture, passage of the initiative would instruct our U.S. and state representatives to take action on this issue.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 8, Posted 2:06 PM, 07.31.2013

A park at Meadowbrook and Lee?

One year, at a local holiday pottery sale, I bought my younger daughter a decorative plate; it is all black except for one corner where there is a rising yellow moon. Underneath the moon are the words, “The barn burned down, now I can see the moon.” I could never be that sanguine, but I am a firm believer that change creates opportunity. My point?  The Orlean Company’s plan to build apartments and retail on the city-owned property at Meadowbrook and Lee fell through. I don’t know why.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 6, Posted 10:38 AM, 05.21.2013

Brick streets are one of the city's many assets

To the Editor:

I am worried about one of the opinions expressed by Mary Dunbar in her article "Cleveland Heights road repairs" [Heights Observer, April 1]. Ms. Dunbar wrote, "Though charming, Cleveland Heights's few remaining brick roads can be cost prohibitive to maintain. Covering them with asphalt improves driving safety and makes repairs affordable."

This seems to me to be a curious statement from a member of Cleveland Heights City Council. Cleveland Heights is blessed with many charming homes, commercial buildings and parks. If we only consider cost, I guess it is true that all of our charming assets could be replaced with alternatives that would make them less "cost prohibitive to maintain," but then Cleveland Heights would be just another suburban clone community.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 6, Posted 10:20 AM, 05.14.2013

Date set for public records trial regarding Taylor Road rehabilitation project

A common pleas judge has rejected an attempt by the City of Cleveland Heights to block a public records case from going to trial.

[We], Cleveland Heights residents Douglas Whipple and Susan Tuck-Whipple, had submitted two public records requests to the city in 2011--before the project began. They sought records relating to the conduct of city council and the administration leading up to the rehabilitation of Taylor Road. The project narrowed South Taylor Road and allocated all of the resulting green space to the commercial east side of the street and none to the residential west side.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 6, Posted 4:34 PM, 05.10.2013

Gun violence and gospel values

To the Editor:

The issue of gun accessibility and gun control divides our nation. Most Americans agree that sensible gun control is a good thing. Getting specific about what that looks like, however, separates us into confused and suspicious camps. Good people and good friends disagree. Within the Forest Hill congregation there exists a variety of opinions, shaped by where one grew up, where one lives now, previous gun usage or ownership, and one’s interpretation of the Second Amendment.  

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 5, Posted 12:59 PM, 04.30.2013

Free parking shows that CH is pro-business

To the Editor,

I wish to commend Mayor Kelley and Cleveland Heights City Council for their recent action to provide free parking in all city lots on the last weekend of each month in 2013.

This is exactly the type of vote that sends a clear message that Cleveland Heights is pro-business. It encourages those of us who are already conducting business in Cleveland Heights, and helps attract new business. Indeed, in a conversation I had yesterday with a potential new business coming to Cedar Fairmount, it demonstrates that we are a good place to do business.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 2, Posted 10:58 AM, 01.24.2013

Coventry Library vital part of Coventry Village

To the Editor:

Though it offers a different kind of activity from the bustling eateries, taverns and shops just down the street, Coventry Village Library—a branch of the Cleveland Heights-University Heights Public Library system—is very much a part of the Coventry Village neighborhood. In fact, with its dignified English Medieval Vernacular (according to the library website) architectural style, and its noncommercial land use, the library helps ease the transition from Coventry’s mercantile strip to the residential areas down Washington Boulevard.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 1, Posted 7:09 PM, 01.02.2013

Resident urges against spending estimated $200 million on new school facilities

To the Editor:

I was very disappointed in your editorial.

I attended a number of public meeting about the school facility "plan" and I spoke at a couple--mostly though, pretty ignored by arrogant SB and "academics" who are hellbent on taxing us to death to go $200 million into debt to build "fancy all new building."

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 12, Posted 3:28 PM, 11.29.2012

Spread the word: support independent businesses this holiday season

To the Editor,

It is holiday season for all of us, especially retailers. For the past few years, I have taken the letter below and added a paragraph or two (I guess you can call that creative reuse or self plagiarism). The issue of local independent businesses is near and dear to my heart and is so important to the viability and vitality of our neighborhoods. We must all make a conscientious effort to support local businesses, from the neighborhood bookstore and record store, which face the toughest battles of us "indies," to the locally owned music clubs that struggle to keep afloat.

It's been five years since I wrote my first letter—dated Holiday Season 2007. I believe that there is finally light at the end of the tunnel. Business is picking up! Most retailers are finally saying goodbye to the trend of decreased annual sales. Maybe it's the economy or maybe it's the community coming together to support local businesses. The bottom line is that it feels good, and we all say THANKS!

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 12, Posted 3:18 PM, 11.21.2012

Cuyahoga County Public Library Board plans sale of South Euclid's Telling Mansion

The Telling Mansion is for sale. 
 
The Telling Mansion has been home to the South Euclid-Lyndhurst branch of the Cuyahoga County Public Library since 1952. Quoting directly from the library’s website, “Mr. Fiske (Library Board President from 1946–54) recognized the potential of the Telling mansion, knew it was for sale, and felt the unique building should be preserved for use as a public library.” 
 
On Oct. 30, Robert Varley, the current library president, and Sari Feldman, the library director, put Telling Mansion on the market.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 12, Posted 5:29 PM, 11.12.2012

Heights performance of 'Phantom' was spectacular

To the Editor:

As a former resident of Cleveland Heights, I was delighted to be asked to attend the Saturday performance of “Phantom of the Opera” at Heights High. Having seen “Phantom” three times on professional stages and once at the movies, I was somewhat doubtful, in advance, of the quality of a high school performance. This is one of the most difficult of all Broadway shows—vocally and musically.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 12, Posted 7:29 AM, 11.12.2012

Promote safer bicycling and motoring

To the Editor,

Bike Cleveland is vying to win $10,000 worth of pro-bono communication services to develop a public awareness campaign to promote safer biking environments, in the Heights and across Greater Cleveland. Help Bike Cleveland win by going to Dix & Eaton's Facebook page and liking the Bike Cleveland entry before noon, Nov. 12.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 12, Posted 2:22 PM, 11.09.2012

Neither religion nor just hamstrings

To the Editor:

All of us at the Atma Center rejoiced after receiving news that we were named the Best Place to Express Your Spirituality in the 2012 FutureHeights Best of the Heights awards. Then we imagined some might wonder why a yoga school won in this category, dominated by nominations for churches and synagogues.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 11, Posted 11:44 AM, 10.31.2012

Why a solid fence for Cumberland Pool?

To the Editor:

I am writing regarding a possible plan to construct a solid fence around Cumberland Pool that is under discussion and vote by Cleveland Heights City Council members.

I am 64 years old—a resident of Cleveland Heights my whole life, save a few years in my early 20s. I spent every summer of my life from probably 6–8 to 18 at Cumberland pool. The pool has changed over the years—no longer does one have to go through the toe inspection and the cold water foot bath, the rules have been relaxed so one can bring a book, you can wear your suit to the pool!—but the basics haven't changed.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 10, Posted 10:39 AM, 10.03.2012

Remembering Charlie Ault

Cleveland Heights recently lost a hero. Charlie Ault died on Aug. 31. You might not know who Charlie was, but you have undoubtedly benefited from his work and passion. He was a founding member of the Forest Hill Church Housing Corporation, which eventually became the Home Repair Resource Center (HRRC). Ault and fellow parishioners began fighting social injustices and shady real estate practices during the 1970s, starting with a house remodel and sale. Cleveland Heights was changing, and Ault and his newly founded group were advocating for peoples' rights, their community's values and the strength of neighborhoods.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 10, Posted 8:02 PM, 09.16.2012

Kudos to the Cleveland Heights Community Center

To the Editor:

When the community center gym was closed for maintenance from Aug. 21 to Aug. 26, I realized how addicted I had become to my workout routine at the gym two or three times a week.

I’ve long been impressed by how well the gym is being run and maintained, and then it reopened, spic and span, after certain repairs, general cleaning and check-up of the exercise machines, I thought it high time to write this public letter of appreciation.

Hey, all of you community center managers and staffers, you’re doing an exemplary job! Thank you!

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 10, Posted 12:45 PM, 09.10.2012

Cedar Fairmount SID thanks city and mayor of Cleveland Heights for their support

To the Editor,

I wish to give sincere thanks and praise to Cleveland Heights City Council's unanimous decision to declare Myxx a public nuisance. We in the Cedar Fairmont district have striven very hard to make this an attractive destination for vistors and residents. The appaling indifference shown by the owner of Myxx to all of her neighbors needed to be acted upon swiftly and indeed was, both by council and our Cleveland Heights Police Department. I also wish to thank Chief Robertson for his part in not allowing things to have gotten worse, which most certainly could have happened given the powderkeg nature of what was going on there.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 10, Posted 3:25 PM, 08.30.2012

Visit Ten Thousand Villages: a happy experience

On Sunday, Aug. 12, the Cedar Fairmount Summer Festival transformed the streets of our community into an exciting, vibrant area. In a tent on Surrey Road, Ten Thousand Villages presented a craft experience for young people to learn and create batik art paintings. At Ten Thousand Villages, there are numerous pieces of batik art for sale. 

The tent also had information about volunteering at Ten Thousand Villages. The store’s assistant manager talked about the experience of shopping and working there—experiences that bring satisfaction to customers and to the artisans who make the figurines, bowls, textiles, jewelry and other items in the store.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 9, Posted 10:15 AM, 09.02.2012

Heights Youth Club says 'thanks'

To the Editor:

Cleveland Heights celebrated its tradition of serving great food at the 4th annual Taste of The Heights held on June 14.  More than 200 guests at the Heights Youth Club (HYC) on Lee Road savored delicious platefuls of food, sipped a beverage or glass of wine, and enjoyed wonderful jazz entertainment provided by Hubb’s Groove.

Local restaurateurs rallied behind the club by providing a favorite dish, prepared by their chefs. The HYC board of directors wants to extend a special thank you to Jimmy O’Neill for orchestrating the participating restaurants.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 9, Posted 9:56 AM, 09.02.2012

Former Detroit resident objects to CH mayor's characterization of that city

I read with interest the Heights Observer article about Myxx being declared a public nuisance. I have no opinion on the issue one way or the other (this is the first I've heard of the problem and it's not that close to my house). However, I DO take issue with a statement made by the mayor in the last paragraph:

“This is not downtown Detroit, this is Cleveland Heights, Ohio,” said Mayor Kelley.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 9, Posted 10:48 AM, 08.14.2012

One-man community garden needs assistants

To the Editor:

“Who will help me plant this seed?” asked the Little Red Hen in the fairy tale. Nobody wanted to help with anything until it was time to eat the bread.

In a similar true-life story, Steve Warner, a Cleveland Heights High School science teacher and Environmental Club faculty advisor, has been caring for the Taylor Road Learning Garden all summer by himself, with the help of a scattered few volunteers and the University Heights Fire Department.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 8, Posted 4:47 PM, 08.01.2012

Dog-free Cleveland Heights parks are underused

To the Editor

Your front page article about the Dog Project caught my eye when I saw a copy in a recent visit to City Hall. We have lived in Cleveland Heights for some 15 years. During that time, we could count on one hand (thumb not needed) the times we've walked in Cleveland Heights Parks.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 8, Posted 10:10 AM, 07.12.2012

Dog Project Update

To the Editor:

Many thanks to the citizens of Cleveland Heights, the media and Cleveland Heights City Council for much good dialogue about going dog-friendly in Cleveland Heights parks, namely Cain Park. Because this is such a multifaceted issue with many considerations, the Dog Project Committee felt it important to gather the community’s input before forging ahead with a petition. No matter your viewpoint on this subject, we invite you to share your feedback. In doing so, you’ll help guide how we proceed with the petition. In the bigger picture, this is all about making Cain Park and Cleveland Heights safer and even better places to be.

To take the survey click here through July 31.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 8, Posted 10:50 AM, 07.10.2012

Discrimination mars recent Pride Weekend event

To the Editor:

On Saturday, June 23, Cleveland celebrated Pride Weekend. This event is held each June in celebration of the Stonewall Riots of 1969 which is often revered as the beginning of the LGBTQ Civil Rights Movement. Amongst the celebration and awareness-raising was an unfortunate event which speaks directly to why such events are still necessary and full equality has not yet arrived.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 8, Posted 10:11 AM, 07.06.2012

Concern over school board's facilities plan process

To the Editor:

We would like to add our voices to the opinions expressed by Eric Silverman regarding the process of the School Board and its likely dysfunctional outcomes.

We are parents of two Heights High graduates, both of whom have achieved excellence in part based on the fine foundations they obtained from Roxboro schools and the high school. In 1976, we deliberately chose to live in the Roxboro section to avoid the obvious, at least to us, deficits of the so-called open plan schools that had arrived on the CH scene. We now have one grandson who just completed Kindergarten at Roxboro and thus have a strong continuing interest in excellent schools.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 8, Posted 11:05 AM, 07.03.2012

Dogs in parks?

To the Editor:

For some who suffer from allergies, dogs are definitely not “part of the part of the 21st century family.” While many dogs are well-behaved and well-trained, too many are not, jumping up and nosing strangers without invitation. For those with severe allergies, like my wife and sons, contact with dog dander or saliva brings on rashes and severe breathing difficulties, which may require hospitalization.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 7, Posted 12:58 PM, 06.28.2012

Thanks to CH-UH School Board for its Millikin School decision.

Members of the Cleveland Heights-University Heights School Board are to be commended for their leadership. They refused to give in to the demands of a small vocal group regarding the sale of Millikin School. The board recognized the real issue behind the sale of this public property—the land, not the building, is important.

This piece of land has significant economic potential because it could easily be connected to Severance Town Center. This land contains a wetland and provides a green buffer between the largest assemblage of concrete and asphalt in the city and the residential neighborhoods nearby.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 7, Posted 10:29 PM, 06.11.2012

Ensuing schools tragedy

To the Editor:

I am writing about the ensuing tragedy—and I think it is a tragedy—wherein our destructive, willful and reality-blind school system is once again headed towards a catastrophic tax nightmare for all Cleveland Heights and University Heights taxpayers. That is, the sudden new plan for knocking down and/or remodeling every single school building, and once again, dabbling in trendy nonsense about open classrooms.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 7, Posted 6:33 PM, 06.08.2012

Letter to Editor - VNA hospice program

To the Editor:

It was enlightening to see an article about hospice in your wonderful publication. This letter is to broaden the readership's understanding of the hospice process.

The well-respected Visiting Nurse Association (VNA) has an innovative program called "special care" which cares for individuals who qualify for hospice but aren't yet ready to take that step.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 6, Posted 12:54 PM, 05.30.2012

Retain Fairfax property for community uses

To the Editor:

I am following the proposed reorganization of the schools in Cleveland Heights, and am interested in the possible destiny of the property occupied by Fairfax Elementary School, which will be closed [under the school facilities plan]. I think this property should be retained by the city for community use. I would recommend it be repurposed for multiple uses including a community garden (existing use), as well as a park that would include both a playground for children and a dog park.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 6, Posted 1:01 PM, 05.30.2012

Alexander's success at Monticello

I am writing to express my appreciation for everything that Monticello has done for my son, Alexander Buffington, a seventh grader at Monticello, who has been on the honor roll all year. He has autism and was in Amber Hawes' classroom last year and is with her again this year.

Amber Hawes is an amazing teacher who discovered that Alexander has ability in math. She worked very hard with him in sixth grade, and moved him into the transmath class with Genevieve McDougal, who made sure he was welcome in the class.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 6, Posted 1:04 PM, 05.30.2012

Cats and birds

To the Editor:

The bird feeders are out and the birds are everywhere. Yesterday on our step was a dead one, killed no doubt by a neighbor’s cat, doing what comes naturally. I urge everyone to please keep their cats indoors until July so these little birds can have a nesting season during early spring and summer.

Samuel A. Nigro, M.D.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 6, Posted 1:06 PM, 05.30.2012

Earth Day: Remember nature in the debate over Millikin and other school buildings

This Earth Day, April 22, remember that you can make a difference. The public attitude favoring a balance with nature, firmly and persistently expressed to our elected officials, can and has changed the world for the better.

The first Earth Day observances were held on April 22, 1970. I was in high school then, in another part of town. Our schoolbooks said the sky was blue, but when we looked toward Cleveland what we saw was an angry yellow-brown haze. I can still feel how my eyes would sting and my lungs would burn on the worst summer days. 

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 5, Posted 10:37 AM, 04.17.2012

School board remains silent on Millikin

After several board meetings which were attended by hundreds of Cleveland Heights citizens, and after hundreds of phone calls, dozens of letters to local newspaper editors, and a clear outpouring of public support from all segments of the Cleveland Heights community, the CH-UH school board has continued to ignore the voices of the citizens that they represent and accept the offer that Mosdos Ohr HaTorah has made to purchase the former Millikin School.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 5, Posted 2:38 PM, 04.16.2012

Residents are watching and waiting to see how district handles Millikin

To the Editor,
 
I am writing about the Millikin property, which remains an open issue. As the Cleveland Heights-University Heights school board has its facilities evaluation to deal with declining population, and is promising to close more neighborhood buidings, taxpayers are wondering if Fairfax, Gearity, and Noble neighborhoods will suffer the same drop in property values with the abandonment of those buildings, incurring the crime, trouble and disregard for upkeep that Millikin residents have had to put up with.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 5, Posted 9:50 AM, 04.10.2012

Take a breath on Millikin discussion

To the Editor:

I am sorry to see the anger surrounding the current debate over the future of the Millikin School property.

I do not have a horse in this race, but I do have some questions:

What has changed since last year, when the Board of Education (BOE) last solicited requests for proposals for the Millikin property?

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 4, Posted 9:43 AM, 04.04.2012

Heights religious communities urge action on Millikin

[This was submitted to the editor for publication as an open letter to the CH-UH Board of Education and the Cleveland Heights City Council.]

To the Editor:

As go the school district and each of the various smaller educational communities, so go all of our communities. We, the undersigned of religious communities in the Heights and members of the Heights InterFaith Council, believe that the Cleveland Heights-University Heights City School District in its abandonment of a community asset in the Severance Millikin School is doing a disservice to the greater Heights Community.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 4, Posted 12:10 PM, 03.27.2012

On the future of Millikin School property

To the Editor:

Regarding the discussion about the Millikin School, the residents of Cleveland Heights need to understand the whole picture. There is an offer to purchase the building by a nonprofit organization at what seems like fair market value. There is also an offer from a call center, a business that may bring jobs to the area, which may become a significant revenue stream.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 4, Posted 9:57 AM, 03.23.2012

Board should take the time to make the right decision on Millikin

To the Editor:

Unfortunately in the cacophony surrounding Severance-Millikin Elementary School, three different issues are being wrapped into one, muddying the waters: the condition of the site, the future of the site and the value of the site.  

I will agree with those who lament the current appearance of Millikin, and the CH-UH City School District has not helped its case by working to make sure the building and grounds look as good or better than open buildings, as doing this could thwart this vein of criticism.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 4, Posted 11:45 AM, 03.20.2012

A plea for Severance Woods

To the Editor:

Think of a favorite book you read with your parents as a young child, an actual book you could hold and share, something you will read with your own children. Someday your children may read that very same book to their children, and when they do, they will think of you and the world you made for them. What kind of world will that be?

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 4, Posted 12:03 PM, 03.20.2012

Board makes it hard to discuss Millikin

To the Editor:

Knowing that a community’s strength and growth are largely due to its educational offerings, why isn't the Cleveland Heights-University Heights Board of Education willing to respond to the needs and ideas of a large group of its citizens? A number of us have tried unsuccessfully to have the board address the issue of the deserted Millikin School property, an empty building that has cost the board hundreds of thousands of wasted dollars when our proposal for its use would profit the community and the district.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 4, Posted 1:30 PM, 03.13.2012

Millikin: It's time to do the right thing

As a current eighth grade student in Mosdos Ohr Hatorah girls school, I strongly urge the CH-UH school board to sell Millikin to Mosdos Ohr HaTorah.

There are many reasons why I think this will be beneficial to the student body of the school as well as for all the residents living in our community.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 4, Posted 10:46 AM, 03.06.2012

Support the sale of Millikin to Mosdos

To the Editor:

As a Cleveland Heights homeowner, I care deeply about making this a wonderful place to live and raise children.

One of the most effective ways to strengthen and grow a community is to place our utmost attention on the educational needs of the children who live there. Great schools are the building blocks of all great communities. 

Mosdos Ohr Hatorah, a Jewish private school in Cleveland Heights, has been providing superb Jewish and secular studies education for many years.

 

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 3, Posted 4:46 PM, 02.29.2012

Real sustainability, or merely lip service

An open letter to the CH-UH Board of Education:

We are residents of Cleveland Heights, concerned with the speed with which the School Facilities Committee appears to be pushing through the renovation and/or replacement our existing school buildings. We hear the term sustainability mentioned a lot, but so far no one has satisfactorily explained what sustainability means in terms of building/renovating and operating the district’s schools in the near and distant future.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 3, Posted 11:47 AM, 02.17.2012

Citizens group advocates for Saybrook Park

To the Editor:

Citizens for Saybrook Park was recently formed as a grassroots movement to urge the City of University Heights to purchase the former Fuchs Mizrachi School property between Saybrook and Fenwick roads. Our group would like to see the site converted into a city park.

This is a golden opportunity to create a large open space for University Heights residents. As residents know, most of our yards are small, and we would love to have a park where we’d be able to play with our kids, throw a football around, or take a stroll away from the street noise. This is the type of asset that helps a city attract new homebuyers and improves the quality of life of its current residents.  

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 3, Posted 2:49 PM, 02.10.2012

Troops appreciate salamis from Cleveland Heights

To the Editor:

I received the following letter via e-mail on Jan. 24 from a recent Salami to the Troops recipient: 

Greetings from Kabul, Afghanistan.A few days ago I received a box of beef salami from your shop as part of your program to support the troops. Food items like this are a rarity around here and are truly appreciated by everyone who will have a slice...or two or three. You have helped to put some smiles on faces here at Headquarters ISAF in the midst of some very long work days. 

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 3, Posted 10:27 PM, 02.05.2012

Noble Road landmark endangered

To the Editor:

Noble Road Presbyterian Church has been a beacon of light in this community for 90 years. Our spiritual outreach includes worship, counseling, baptisms, weddings, memorial and funeral services.

We partner with Noble Elementary School, providing school supplies, winter gloves and hats, and holiday angel gifts. The Noble and Roxboro schools have supported our fundraising for the Liberian Dougbe River School and church. We donate money, food items, and holiday angel gifts to the Heights Emergency Food Center, as well as provide clothing, household items, and services to the Family Promise temporary shelter in Cleveland.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 3, Posted 3:51 PM, 02.03.2012

The Wine Spot thanks community, contractors for their support

Thank you for the wonderful article on The Wine Spot in the Jan. 4 Heights Observer. We are very excited to be up and running and appreciate the enthusiastic support from the local community. We are proud to be in Cleveland Heights and to have our shop in the historic Seitz-Agin space.

A couple of additions and clarifications:

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 2, Posted 2:14 PM, 01.06.2012

Thank you to Al Oberst for remembering sacrifices of WWI

Thank you so much for the article "Veteran honors the fallen" in your December issue. I was very curious about the handmade WW I Memorial sign when it appeared on North Park, and I have been curious for years about the bronze plaques at the base of trees around Horseshoe Lake. Now I have the answer for both! What a wonderful way to honor the dead of WWI.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 1, Posted 10:24 AM, 12.20.2011

Letter to the Editor

Editor,

The other day I received a piece of certified mail at my home address of 3XXX Meadowbrook, University Heights, Ohio. The certified mail was a court summons from the City of Cleveland Heights for “Failure to Obtain a Certificate of Occupancy for 2011” for the home located at 2XXX Princeton Road in Cleveland Heights (Housing File Number 113067). You can imagine my complete confusion and alarm upon reading the inspection complaint, and, even more so, the accompanying notice for the warrant of my arrest based on said violation. But here’s the thing: the mail was forwarded on by the postal service to my current address, where I reside, on Meadowbrook in University Heights. I have not owned or occupied the Princeton Road, Cleveland Heights, property in question since August of 2004.

Read Full Story
Volume 5, Issue 1, Posted 12:53 PM, 12.13.2011

Supporting new faces for CH council

To the Editor:

Voters in Cleveland Heights are very fortunate to have three new highly qualified, energetic and intelligent candidates for city council in Jeff Coryell, Mary Dunbar and Mike Gaynier. Each comes with a valuable package of skills and background as well as a vision for engaging citizens in thoughtful and creative approaches to addressing challenging issues and moving our city forward.

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 11, Posted 10:07 PM, 11.01.2011

City of University Heights officials support Issue 6

To The Editor:

Education is one of the greatest gifts we can offer our children to ensure a vibrant future. In our country, public education is the backbone of that promise to future generations.

We understand and appreciate how economically challenging these times are for our residents. But we also understand that our public schools are a critical asset to our community: its health, stability, and future.

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 11, Posted 9:24 AM, 10.10.2011

Visitors document Cleveland Heights historic landmarks

To the Editor:

Our son, Tug (age 30) and his sister, Kate (age 27) were home this summer and decided to try to find all the historic landmarks in Cleveland Heights. They downloaded a map and list from a website. Then they went off on their bikes to find them. They took photos of each other in front of the markers or sights. They had a wonderful time doing this and found places in Cleveland Heights. where they had never been before.

We have lived in Cleveland Heights for 31 years, so we all love and appreciate it very much. We thought you might be interested in seeing the album: http://gallery.me.com/mektra#100124

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 11, Posted 12:37 PM, 10.11.2011

Heights Youth Club says 'Thank you!'

In June, five members of the Heights Youth Club and the club director, Roscoe Morgan, spent seven days immersed in the local communities and cultures of Managua, Nicaragua. The youths participated in an immersion project facilitated by International Partners in Mission (IPM). IPM works across borders of faith and culture on behalf of children, women, and youth to create partnerships that build justice, peace, and hope. 

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 10, Posted 2:47 PM, 09.27.2011

Historic district signage is confusing, inaccurate

To the Editor,

Cleveland Heights is rightfully proud of its 10th historic district. Bested in the county by only the city of Cleveland, the Shaker Farm Historic District maintains Cleveland Heights’ status as home of the most districts listed on the U.S. Department of Interior National Register of Historic Places. Unfortunately, they have carelessly named these areas, causing confusion to all but the closest followers and a handful of historians.

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 10, Posted 10:52 PM, 09.26.2011

Where were the editors on one-sided Oakwood article?

As a fellow Oberlin alumnus, I applaud Observer intern James Helmsworth’s well written account of the fight over the Oakwood property. A couple of points stand out for me as creating a less than balanced presentation in his article, and I think it’s not the fault of an intern.  Presumably there was  - or there should have been - some kind of editorial guidance for Mr. Helmsworth. First, he should have been disabused of the notion that the Oakwood property is some kind an unspoiled wilderness where the developers will snatch away homes from the indigenous flora and fauna. I halfway expect to read a claim by the anti-development forces that the property may be home to a previously unknown clan of native Hopewell people whose culture flowered in Ohio over a thousand years ago, surviving now only in the rough near Oakwood's erstwhile fourteenth hole.

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 10, Posted 11:32 AM, 09.10.2011

Voters versus property owners: losing sight of the forest for the trees.

To the Editor

Few would disagree that there are plenty of unhappy people on both sides of any one of these issues: John Carroll University’s property usage, development of a McDonald's fast food restaurant on Warrensville Center Road; greenlighting the B’nei Torah congregation for the property next to my house on Green Road. In each instance, our elected officials claim they are acting in the best interests of the city — a poorly defined objective to be sure — though even the winners are upset by the process of vetting reported in the media.

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 10, Posted 10:24 PM, 09.06.2011