The Euclid Golf Historic District—on the National Register of Historic Places—is one of Cleveland Heights’ older suburban developments. It was created on land that belonged to John D. Rockefeller and leased to the Euclid Club. Its majestic Tudor Revival clubhouse, which stood for about a decade only, was situated approximately where Cedar Road meets Norfolk Road today. The historic district, centered on Fairmount Boulevard between Cedar and Coventry roads, includes the Fairmount Boulevard Historic District.
Barton R. Deming began developing the Euclid Golf district in 1914. His own house is the picturesque European-looking structure set in the hillside at the beginning of Fairmount Boulevard at Cedar Road.
The styles of the residences seen in Euclid Golf—which is primarily residential with the exception of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church and the commercial building along Fairmount Boulevard within the Cedar Fairmount district—are mainly of Tudor Revival, Georgian Revival, English Colonial and French Norman design. The streets off of Fairmount contain less expensive yet stylish homes.