Three CH-UH schools among first recipients of Momentum Award

Fairfax Elementary School students.

The Ohio State Board of Education has named Fairfax Elementary School, Monticello Middle School and Roxboro Middle School as recipients of its new Momentum Award.

The award recognizes those [schools] with all A’s on value-added measures from their 2014–15 Ohio School Report Cards, exceeding expectations for student growth for the year.

This is the first year the Ohio State Board of Education has granted the award, making the three Cleveland Heights-University Heights schools among its inaugural class of recipients. This year, 165 Ohio schools received the Momentum Award.

“We are very excited that Fairfax, Monticello and Roxboro Middle are among the first to win this award,” said Talisa Dixon, CH-UH City School District superintendent. “This award is a testament to the dedication and high quality of our educators, staff and students. We have proven to our community and the entire state that our students can be high achievers, no matter their background or ability. We look forward to building on this ‘Momentum’ for years to come.”

In bestowing the award, Ohio Board of Education President Thomas Gunloack said, “I am proud of the academic support you, your staff and community have provided to students from every background and ability level. For your students, you are keeping the learning momentum high.”

Scott Wortman

Scott Wortman is the coordinator of communications for the Cleveland Heights-University Heights City School District.

Read More on Schools
Volume 9, Issue 7, Posted 9:37 AM, 06.02.2016