Heights Youth Club holds Youth of the Year competition

The Youth of the Year program is a Boys and Girls Club of America nationally sponsored event. The competition recognizes extraordinary members who have made worthwhile contributions to their family, school, or community; have shown a dedication to academic excellence; and have risen above personal challenges or obstacles. The program benefits members by helping them to achieve personal growth, developing their leadership skills, strengthening their moral values, and building positive self-concepts along with developing healthy attitudes toward home, community, school and their club.

From our local Heights Youth Club, we have five exemplary candidates in Deontae Strickland, Benetta Steward, Brenika Gross, Sapphira Derico, and Clayton Harris. The qualifications for the candidates are: to be at least 14 to 18 years of age, have a record of active and continuing service in the club for at least two years, and have completed a YOY application that entails writing essays that describe the candidate’s personal qualities, experiences and achievements. The actual local competition on January 8 requires that the candidates present their essay to a panel of judges who will then evaluate their qualifications along with their speeches to determine a winner.

The HYC winner will then go on to compete in the overall Boys and Girls Clubs of Cleveland Youth of the Year competition on January 22 to determine the city’s champion. The winner of the local competition will win a total of $7,500 in scholarship funds to the college of their choice and will have the opportunity to compete on the state level in hopes of going on to the regional and then national level. Each level carries additional scholarship awards and publicity.

Direct questions or comments to club director Roscoe Morgan at 216-321–CLUB.

Adrienne Williams is a graduate of Bryant and Stratton College and joined the HYC as teen coordinator in 2008.

Read More on Heights Kids
Volume 2, Issue 1, Posted 9:10 AM, 12.16.2008